July 8, 2011
paninigirl

4 comments

Whirlaways!

For about a week now I’ve been I’ve been thinking about a cookie from my childhood. I wasn’t quite sure what was in it and definitely had no idea what it was called. I did remember that it was a refrigerator cookie and that the dough was rolled in something and I thought that oatmeal was involved at some point in the recipe. I had a vision of them nestled in the cupcake papers that my mother would use to fill red and green tins with her Christmas cookies to give as gifts.

So where would I go to find the recipe? Of course, my mother! Well, she wasn’t really sure what I was talking about until the end of our conversation when she mentioned that it sounded like a cookie named whirlaway and she swears she only made them once. Knowing my mother as I do, I figured she probably still had the recipe tucked away in her file box and she said she’d take a look. Yes indeed, she did find it and it was called whirlaway. I couldn’t wait to get in the kitchen and whip up a batch.

These cookies are simple to throw together. They are light and not terribly sweet and when I bit into one I was immediately transported back in time-just what I wanted…

Whirlaways

1 cup butter
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1-1/2 cups flour, sifted
1 cup rolled oats
Chocolate sprinkles (which I grew up calling jimmies)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Cream the butter, add the sugar and beat until fluffy. Add the vanilla, flour and oats. Do not over mix. Shape the dough into 2 logs, 1-1/2″ in diameter. Sprinkle chocolate “jimmies” on waxed paper or parchment and roll dough over to cover outside. Chill about 15-20 minutes. Slice into 1/4″ pieces and place on parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake for 25 minutes. Cookies should not brown. Yield: 48 cookies

4 thoughts on “Whirlaways!

  1. These sound so easy and yummy! Must try. Jimmies is the name I remember too, that’s what we called then in So Cal where I grew up!

  2. Cute name, easy, and with mini chocolate chips, and from Mom-sounds like a winner!

  3. Denise-are you still in southern CA?

  4. Linda-the little bit of chocolate is just the perfect addition to this cookie.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

