June 30, 2011
paninigirl

no comments

My Kind Of Shop-Maybe

On my first day in Lucca after stowing my bag at the B & B, I set out to explore the town, without a map. I figured it would be best to just walk aimlessly up and down the lanes and alleyways and not be hampered by pulling out the map and trying to figure out where I was or where I should be headed.

I stopped first for a cappuccino and later, a gelato. Suddenly I turned a corner and saw this sign up above the shop window-Pasticceria e Biscotteria. Was I ever happy! A shop selling pastries and cookies-definitely my kind of place. Imagine my dismay when before entering the store I finally took a look in the window and found that it wasn’t any kind of bakery. I can’t even remember exactly what type of negozio (shop) was there, but it had nothing to do with food.

Thankfully someone had the foresight to save the beautiful signage, even if it was a big letdown for an avid pastry lover. All was not lost as few minutes later I did run into what was become my daily spot for a caffè and a pasticcini and I was able to indulge my craving something sweet.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

