Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

June 24, 2011
paninigirl

6 comments

Do You Love Ceramics?

Well I do. I’ve always had a soft spot for platters, bowls, pitchers and the like. Anything that is hand made really has a place in my heart. If you look in my cupboard you would see that I don’t need on more thing but I can’t help myself. I’m drawn to ceramics and am ready at any moment to add a piece to my collection.

If you’ve ever been to the wonderful Baur B & B in Acqui Terme you will recognize the platters as being made by the lovely Diana, innkeeper and ceramist straordinaria (extraordinary). Staying at this little slice of heaven in Piemonte should be on the top of your list. The location is amazing (in the hills right outside of town, but you’ll be in the centro in a matter of minutes) and the amenities are just what a weary traveller is looking for-incredibly comfortable beds, rooms that are spacious and have definitely been designed by an artist. And the breakfasts, don’t even get me going!

But I digress. I am here to talk about pottery. Since returning from our stay there last year I’ve been wishing that I had asked Diana about purchasing one of her pieces. I’m a follower of her very creative blog A Certain Simplicity and check every once in a while to see if her pottery pieces are for sale. Well, imagine my delight when I found out that Diana’s ceramics are now for sale on line. Head on over to Etsy and take a look. From someone who has seen her pieces in person, sipped a cappuccino out of a cup she lovingly made and eaten off one of her plates, you too will fall for her work.

Autumn In Tuscany-Cook With Panini Girl In Lucca

6 thoughts on “Do You Love Ceramics?

  1. Janie, you are so lovely! Thank you! Come back!!! I’ll make you something special. šŸ™‚

  2. Diana-we will be back and I definitely leave room in my suitcase for a piece of your work.

  3. Love the platters in your post. Did Diana make those? They really showcase the food well.I always bring home a few (my husband says a lot) of ceramics from each trip to Italy. Food and drink just taste and look better on ceramic!

  4. I will go there – it’s on my list. Hopefully this coming autumn! My favourite potter!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

