May 1, 2011
paninigirl

6 comments

La Fiera Antiquaria-Arezzo’s Antique Fair

On our very first trip to Italy some years back we met an American woman and her daughter who had been staying in the same borgo as we were and they told us about the Arezzo Antique Fair. Held once a month, this is the biggest of its kind in the country and it’s most probably Arezzo’s claim to fame.

J., being the adventurous spirit that he is, said we should head out and try to find it. It was drizzling lightly when we left our tiny medieval outpost and set out with our map to find Arezzo. I’m not quite sure how we got there, but we did and after finding a parking place (an incredible feat in itself) we joined the crowds and started exploring. By now it was pouring but we were not to be deterred and spent a few hours checking out the hundreds of stalls filled with antiques and merchandise of all sorts.

This weekend will be my third time at the fair. This year the sun was shining and I made it a point to head out early on Saturday morning before the crowds hit the scene. It’s really rather overwhelming with street after street lined with things for sale. I’m always drawn to the linens and silverware, although I must admit that I found that most things are overpriced (especially considering the poor value of the dollar). I didn’t find anything that I couldn’t live without, that is anything that I could fit in a suitcase. If I were furnishing a house, I could have gone crazy-just look at these fabulous doors I saw. J. is breathing a sigh of relief that I didn’t try to have these shipped home!

Autumn In Tuscany-Cook With Panini Girl In Lucca

6 thoughts on “La Fiera Antiquaria-Arezzo’s Antique Fair

  1. Looks like a dangerous place for Palma! Wouldn’t it be fun to go there to furnish a little house in Italy?

  2. I agree with Palma………..looks like so much fun!

  3. Palma-oh yes, I could just see you outfitting your home here!

  4. Catherine-I loved just looking at everything and dreaming about having a house here.

  5. We have a table in our apartment that we bought at the Arezzo fair more that 7 years ago. It is a huge market. There is one in Lucca on the 3rd weekend of each month. It is pretty good too, but my favourite is the small one at Forte dei Marmi on the second Sunday and the preceding Saturday. I try never to miss it when I am in Italy. I usually manage 5 or 6 visits a year.

  6. Pingback: Around Town Arezzo « Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

