April 23, 2011
paninigirl

8 comments

My Salumi Stupor

When I’m not in class or at home studying, I’m walking around town stopping into each and every food shop I come across. Now, if you’ve been to Italy before you can well imagine that this could be a very dangerous habit. Just about every third shop has something to do with food and I find it hard to stop myself from making a purchase.

I just looked in the fridge and I see that I’ve bought mortadella, salami, prosciutto, sausage, pancetta and fegato (Tuscan chicken liver spread). I’m here on my own. If I eat all of it someone will probably find me passed out in a salt induced coma!

And let’s not forget the cheese. So far there are three four kinds lurking in there and then there’s the pastries which are not in the kitchen because I consume them on the spot. Thankfully I’ve walked for hours every day, otherwise I’d be buying new jeans.

These photos were taken this morning at the massive weekly Arezzo mercato all’aperto which although interesting, was more clothing and household items than food. I was saved from myself!

8 thoughts on “My Salumi Stupor

  1. Man, I wish I was there!

  2. The clothing markets don’t do it for me either – but the food is wonderful.

  3. You can always go the gym and work it off later!

    Pomona x

  4. Mmmmm……..pork products and cheese, now that’s heaven!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

