April 8, 2011
paninigirl

15 comments

Next Stop-Italy

My time is getting short. I seem to be making lots of lists and attempting to get everything crossed off. Unfortunately just when I think I’m making progress, I think of one or two more things I have to remember and hence a new list begins. Am I complaining, not a bit. I’m going to Italy and in eleven days I’ll be stepping off the train at the station in Arezzo!

I’ll be staying in to a great apartment (I’ll even have a garden off my kitchen) in the centro storico (historic center of the town). After a day of trying to get settled, I’ll be off to school on the top floor of the building in the photo. Am I ready for speaking all Italian all the time? No, not really, but it’s sink or swim at the school-the common language is Italian only and there’s no English spoken at all. Same goes for around town. Last time I stayed in Arezzo the only time I heard any English was the weekend of the famous antique fair when people descend on Arezzo from all over the country.

I’m excited to be there for the week leading up to Easter. Besides looking forward to the evening procession through town on Good Friday and Easter Sunday services, I hope to have time to visit Vestri, the famous chocolatier located right outside of town. I don’t think I’ll get behind the scenes like the last time I was there, so I’ll have to make do with treating myself to their beautiful chocolates.

I better go and do a little studying. I want to make sure I can say “I’ll take a half a pound of those little hazelnut-chocolate candies.”

15 thoughts on “Next Stop-Italy

  1. Hope you have a fantastic time. The weather is perfect here at the moment- not too hot, not too cold. Spring is in the air – after one very long and bitter winter!

  2. Wonderful! There is not a single doubt in my mind that you’ll have the most wonderful time. Divertiteti!

  3. Annika-you can imagine how excited I am-it’s sort of unreal!

  4. I hope you have a great time – looking forward to seeing you soon.

  5. I cant wait to hear about the great experiences you and the other women are going to have together…a dream come true!

  6. Have a wonderful time & enjoy it for all of us!

  7. Love, joy, wonderful experiences, and every other good thing there is. That’s what I wish for you on the start of this journey. You are such a sweet person, and so lovely. It will all go well, better than you can even imagine.

  8. Best wishes and safe travels, Janie. Wish I could be in Lucca this spring.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

