April 6, 2011
paninigirl

4 comments

I’ll Have A Number 6 Please

There are Mexican restaurants all over California, but there’s only one La Super Rica and that’s located in Santa Barbara. It’s a must stop for us if we’re any where in the vicinity. As you stand at the counter to place your order you can watch the tortillas being made. It doesn’t get much fresher than that.

As much as I’ve savored every thing I’ve eaten there, when it comes to La Super Rica I’m a creature of habit. No matter what else, I have to order a #6-rajas. Raja (which means “rags” in Spanish) is a dish made form slow cooked sliced onions and torn pieces of roasted poblano chiles. The dish is finished off with a little bit of sour Mexican cream and queso ranchero (a cheese which you can find in the grocery store here in southern California or in Mexican markets other places). Tucked into a warm corn tortilla, this simple vegetarian taco is seriously addictive.

I’ve attempted to make this at home and although tasty, it just doesn’t compare to eating it there at La Super Rica. I was recently searching through my files for another recipe when I came across an old clipping torn from the Los Angeles Times with an article about rajas. Included was a recipe and I have to admit that this is pretty close to my dream tacos.

Rajas

6 poblano chiles
4 onions
2 tablespoons oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
Chopped cilantro
2 tablespoons Mexican cream
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup queso ranchero, crumbled

Roast chiles, either under broiler or on a grill until the skin blackens, about 10 minutes. Place in a plastic bag and let steam. When cool, peel off the charred skin and discard. Remove seeds and stems and tear chiles into pieces.

Cut onions in half and then into slices about 1/4″ thick. Combine in skillet with oil and cook, covered, over low heat until onions are thoroughly wilted and are beginning to brown, about 15 to 20 minutes. Add garlic and 1 tablespoon cilantro and cook until garlic is soft, about 5 minutes. Add chile slices and heat through, about 5 minutes more. Just before serving, add cream, stir to combine and cook just long enough to thicken, 1 to 2 minutes. Add salt. Remove from heat and add crumbled cheese. Serve with warm tortillas. Serves: about 6 tacos

4 thoughts on “I’ll Have A Number 6 Please

  1. This sounds delicious! I’m never as adventurous as I should be cooking Mexican (I usually limit myself to making classic tacos and burritos) but this has inspired me to step it up!

  2. This seems like something my grandmother cooks. Makes me want to giver her a call!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

