March 28, 2011
paninigirl

4 comments

Back In The Kitchen

It’s been a while and I must admit that I’ve missed both my kitchen and my blog, but I’m back! First the kitchen was somewhat torn apart and there was no way that I could cook. Next I was out of town for a few days and then came home with a cold and didn’t want to cook. Thankfully there’s always a little something tucked away in the freezer for nights like that.

The calendar may say spring, but even here in sunny southern California, it still feels a bit like winter. While I was out of town J. did a little food shopping and came home with some gorgeous short ribs. I toyed with the idea of doing something Italian with them, but in the end I couldn’t turn my back on the recipe from Sunday Suppers at Lucques that is a proven winner. The meat is melt in your mouth tender and along with the braising liquid, this is the perfect dish to pair with polenta or mashed potatoes.

Next up it was definitely time to turn my thoughts to Italy and do some preparation for my upcoming cooking classes there. Normally I use unbleached all purpose flour when making pasta, but it was time to start working with Italian “00” flour, since that’s what I’ll have access to in Lucca. It’s much finer than the flour we use here and the result is incredibly tender pasta that melts in your mouth. I’ve recently used it for lasagna and last night for fettucini and I’m now a convert. I just may have to whip up a batch of ravioli now that I’m on a roll!

P.S. When I get to Lucca it will be back to the hand crank pasta machine and not the Kitchen Aid which I’ve really grown to love!

4 thoughts on “Back In The Kitchen

  1. Hi Janie,
    I agree–all-purpose flour does make decent pasta, but it is not as refined as when you make it with 00 flour. Wish I were heading to Lucca with you. It is one of my favorite Italian cities, and the countryside around it (especially to the north) is dramatic and beautiful.

  2. Welcome home. Looking good! That is one L-O-N-G strip of pasta!

  3. You are impressive, Janie! I am headed to Arthur Avenue in the Bronx to buy the sheets of pasta you just whipped up. Maybe I will be making my own after our trip to Lucca!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

