March 11, 2011
paninigirl

7 comments

A Savory Nibble

I love blue cheese. J. does not, so I rarely make anything with it. I usually have a wedge in th fridge which I will crumble over my salad, sparing him the task of picking it out of his. When I saw this recipe on my new favorite foodie website, I knew it was just a matter of time until I whipped up a batch.

I’ve made something similar to this in the past, but those includes crushed nuts in the dough. These are simpler and just as tasty and if I hadn’t already announced that I was baking with blue cheese, I doubt if J. would have even known what was in them. Next time I think I’ll top with with a half of a pecan, similar to a thumbprint cookie. These are perfect to whip up at the last minute as they only require four ingredients (plus pepper) and can be put together in a snap.

Fig and Blue Cheese Savouries

1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temperature
4 ounces of crumbled blue cheese (I used gorgonzola)
1 cup flour
freshly cracked black pepper
Fig preserves, about 3 tablespoons

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Cube butter and place in food processor along with crumbled blue cheese, flour and a few grinds of black pepper. Process until the dough comes together and forms a ball. Roll the dough out on a lightly floured surface to about 1/8″ thick. Use a 1″ floured cutter and cut dough into rounds. Place rounds on parchment lined sheet pan.

Make an indentation in the center off each round, using your knuckle. Fill with about 1/4″ teaspoon of fig preserves. Bake for 10-14 minutes until the preserves are bubbling and the pastry is light golden on the bottom. Remove to a wire rack and let cool for 10 minutes.
Yield: about 3 dozen

By the way, my new favorite site is called Food 52, but be careful if you stop by there-it’s addictive! The recipe originally came from the Runaway Spoon.

7 thoughts on “A Savory Nibble

  1. Yum, these look great, and easy too. Thanks.

  2. Thank you for the post, Janie. I always have blue cheese or gorgonzola in the fridge so I’ll be making these little savories soon.

  3. Right up MY alley! Can’t wait to make some.

  4. I love these homemade savory cracker-type things, especially if they’re made with blue or gorgonzola cheese – and that fig jam on top is terrific too.

  5. Definitely bookmarking this for very near future use! Figs and blue cheese? A match made in heaven…
    Will be visiting the links you provided too, grazie!

    Ciao
    E xx

  6. Pingback: Roasted Fennel And Cannellini Bean Dip « Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

