January 27, 2011
paninigirl

4 comments

All Puffed Up

Even though I have batch of puff pastry in the freezer, that wasn’t enough for me. I thought it was important that I attempt to recreate what I learned last week-alone, in my own kitchen. I had some Irish unsalted butter in the fridge and I all I needed was the better part of a day at home to complete this task. Before I got going, I decided it would be a good idea to take a look at a few instructional type recipes on line, so could brush up on the basics. This turned out to be a great idea, since there were a few points I had forgotten.

I was happy to have a big slab of marble in my kitchen that I could use for rolling out my dough. It’s important to keep everything as cool as possible and the marble was perfect-granite would be just as good. There were a few moments of apprehension when I thought I might be doing this all over again tomorrow, but I forged ahead and decided that when I was done with all the rolling and resting, I would bake something and we would be the testers. Since it was late in the afternoon by the time I finished up, I decided on an appetizer rather than a sweet pastry (I had promised J. apple turnovers if my pastry was a success).

I settled on onion/gruyere tarts for our taste test, cut off a portion of the dough and froze the rest. I lined individual tart pans with the dough, threw in some grated gruyere cheese and topped this with red onions that I had cooked over low heat with a little olive oil until they had a jam like consistency. The scraps were destined for parmesan “twists”. Into the oven it went and all I had to do was wait. Cheesy, buttery smells were wafting through the house and I could hardly wait to open the oven. I have to admit to peeking in half way through to see if there was any “puffing” going on. I breathed a sigh of relief when I saw pastry rising up over the tart pans. A few minutes later and I was wiping up the crumbs that had fallen on the table after our tasting. We had a winner! Next up-apple turnovers.

4 thoughts on “All Puffed Up

  1. What a brave girl you are. I love the savory ideas. D

  2. OMG those look good! I am drooling for those tarts!

  3. Rumor has it TODAY! APPLE! Woo Hoo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

