January 12, 2011
paninigirl

8 comments

Arezzo Bound?

When I first began researching Italian language schools some years back, I had no intention of attending a class in Tuscany. I imagined myself in some other part of the country, somewhere less traveled, less touristy, somewhere I would hear Italians speaking Italian and not English. Little did I know that I could have that very experience and still be in Tuscany. Where, you ask? Well, it’s Arezzo. Once a month Arezzo hosts the largest antique fair in Italy and this charming town is overrun by tourists from various places, including Italians. The rest of the month, Arezzo is exactly what I had been searching for-quiet, friendly and full of locals going about their business. I consider myself lucky to have spent a month there, working on my Italian at Cultura Italiana and strolling alongside the arretini (citizens of Arezzo) during the evening passeggiata.

My time spent in Arezzo is one that I will always remember fondly. Being immersed in everyday situations where I had to speak the language gave me just the boost that I needed. I came home feeling more confident and vowed to keep up my studies, which I did, for a while… This year I made a New Year’s resolution to practice/study Italian everyday. J. even gave me a workbook to help me along. In a few mere months I will be the spokesperson for my tour, being that I am not only the guide, but also the only person that speaks any Italian (oops, V. speaks some and I will be counting on her to help out!). I will have few days there before my group arrives to get in the speaking mode, but what if I were to go a little earlier and attend school again? Would that be just what I need? J. seems to think so. What do you think?

8 thoughts on “Arezzo Bound?

  1. I think so too πŸ™‚ But then again maybe you can’t stand the thought of a few extra weeks in Italy? πŸ˜‰

  2. Sounds like a good idea to me!

  3. You only live once, why not live it as much in Italy as possible!

  4. Annika, Abbie and Linda-do I really need convincing?!

  5. There is a language school in Lucca – Koine. I find just being in Italy and talking to Italians improves my Italian. I don’t like going to school – not every day any way. I prefer a couple of lessons a week.

    • Bagni di Lucca-I really love going to school and when I spent a month at school in Arezzo before, it was such a good experience for me. I wish I had more time to spend in Italy and get to practice more with the Italians. Being in Arezzo was perfect-no on was speaking English in the shops and most of the students at the school didn’t speak English either, so I was forced to speak in Italian!

  6. WOW this is amazing .. I am so lazy when it comes to learning languages .. need a class and I need to be in the country too.. Be it either France or Italy.. Last summer I was in a small village in France very very few english speaker s.. who it helped me tremendously πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

