November 17, 2010
paninigirl

8 comments

A Taste Of Autumn In A Raviolo

If there’s one vegetable that screams autumn to me, it’s butternut squash. Of course you can walk into a supermarket at any time of year and buy a butternut squash, but why would you want to if it’s the middle of summer? Summer is for tomatoes, zucchini, corn and beautiful green beans. Think like an Italian and cook with the seasons. Save the “winter squashes” for cooler weather-like now!

When I made pasta the other day, I only used half of the dough for the cannelloni. I saw a butternut squash lurking in a basket on my counter and decided to use the rest of the dough for ravioli filled with pureed squash. I cubed the squash, tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted until cooked through, about a half hour. Into the food processor with some ricotta cheese, a little freshly ground nutmeg and the filling was ready to go.

Since I already had dinner for that evening, I froze these on a parchment lined cookie sheet, then popped them into a ziplock baggie where they’re waiting in the freezer for another evening. Tossed with browned butter, fresh sage and Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and you have one delicious dish. Want an easier way to enjoy ravioli-use wonton wrappers instead of making fresh pasta. Happy Autumn!

8 thoughts on “A Taste Of Autumn In A Raviolo

  1. These look delicious, Janie. Don’t you love how you can make a batch of ravioli and just pop them in the freezer for another day? When I was working on the pasta book I learned that freezing fresh pasta is much more reliable than drying, so that’s what I do with all my fresh pasta now–even if I make it in the a.m. and plan to serve in the evening. Cheers, D.

  2. Domenica-when we get to see the new book? Can’t wait!

  3. This looks great. I have never made fresh pasta, but I should give it a try.

  4. Here’s the latest, Janie: book should be available in spring, sometime in April. I’m going to be posting something in the near future on my web site, so please stay tuned. Really enjoy your blog. It makes me feel closer to Italy : )

  5. Amazingly delicious photos that have my mouth watering! One day I will try making fresh pasta. I too love butternut squash.

  6. I can’t believe I’ve never made ravioli. I can make gnocchi. So, I should be able to manager ravioli, right?!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

