November 12, 2010
paninigirl

13 comments

Pot Roast-The Italian Way

It all started when I was away in Italy for month. What was J. going to do for dinner for four long weeks? Of course I left a variety of things in the freezer for him, but eventually that ran out. One day I checked my e mail and he had sent me a link to a pot roast recipe that he had seen in a newspaper. He had made it for himself and it was a success-I got to taste some when I returned home as he had frozen a portion for me. I was excited to know that he now had a meal under his belt that he could whip out when I didn’t feel like cooking!

He came home this week with a piece of meat and the intention of making dinner. He thought I would be home late, but when he saw that I was home and already had dinner plans, his pot roast plans were scrapped. I promised I would make it another night, but I had another version in mind-the one in Domenica Marchetti’s The Glorious Soups and Stews of Italy. I guess I had it on my mind since reading about it on Domenica’s blog the other day. I’ve made this before and it was a hit again last night. I told J. that this could be his new signature dish, but I’m not sure he’s buying it! By the way, Domenica’s cookbook is on my list of favorites so maybe you should add it to your Christmas wish list.

13 thoughts on “Pot Roast-The Italian Way

  1. So touched by this, Janie! Thank you. There’s nothing like the comfort of a good pot roast, is there?..

  2. Love Domenica and want to make this pot roast stat…have been challenged only because, well…I don’t have the meat. I just don’t think substituting hamburger would get the same amazing results! It’s on my list; hoping to have it for a weekend meal; thanks for sharing your experience.

  3. I am so impressed that J made his own!! Good job…we love comfort food..

  4. Well it has certainly been soup and stew weather this past couple of weeks, and it looks like it’ll continue to be that way. I’ll have to check out Domenica’s blog!

  5. Just checked out Domenica’s blog, and the pot roast looks so yummy! Pot roast is so simple, but it’s actually one of my favorite meals. When I was little, it was often my choice for “birthday dinner”. (That’s when you know it’s a favorite!)

  6. SA-weet! I was encoraged by this to make my choice for the Giada Fall theme at I Heart Cooking Club. So I made pot roast too. Yours looks fabulous!

  7. I have that book, too! And “Big Night In”…

  8. Pingback: Soup’s On-Ribollita | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

