October 25, 2010
paninigirl

8 comments

Caramel Sauce

My name is Panini Girl and I have an addiction-caramel sauce. It’s been lingering in the back of my mind for a long time, but now I’m a full fledged fool for this topping made with just a few ingredients. It all started with the butterscotch budino a few weeks back. I had to make a caramel sauce to finish off the pudding and I found myself dragging my finger through the empty pan before adding soap and water. I was crazy for just a tiny taste.

It’s not like this was the first time I’d made caramel. A while back I made an incredible chocolate and caramel tart and I didn’t even think twice about it. A few months later, I decided to replicate the caramel sauce to give as gifts and after burning two batches in a row, I changed my mind. I gave up on caramel and haven’t thought about it since.

This is a foolproof recipe for caramel sauce. The only scary thing is that once you make it, it will be in you fridge and you’ll be looking for any excuse to pour it on something. Best of luck!

Caramel Sauce

1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons corn syrup
1/2 cup sugar

Combine the cream and the vanilla in a small saucepan. Heat until simmering. Add the butter and remove from heat. Set aside.

In a large heavy-bottomed saucepan, combine the corn syrup, sugar and enough water (3-4 tablespoons) to make a wet, sandy mixture. Cook over medium-high, swirling pan for even cooking until mixture is medium amber, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and carefully whisk in cream mixture. Set aside and let cool. Refrigerate and re-heat before serving.

By the way, I made a batch this afternoon and ran out to the store for vanilla ice cream-you know what that mean!

P.S. I “borrowed” this photo…

8 thoughts on “Caramel Sauce

  1. ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  2. There is some in my fridge too. If I had ice cream, it would be all gone!

  3. Imagine mixing caramel sauce with nutella – I wonder what kind of decadent recipe we could come with???

  4. I don’t know of anyone who does not love caramel! It is really so delicious.

  5. I love this post! Caramel is my addiction, I admit I grab spoonfuls & just eat it alone!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

