October 19, 2010
paninigirl

10 comments

Butterscotch Budino-The Best Dessert

I’m probably one of the last people around to taste this dessert. I’ve been reading about it for what seems like forever and have seen a variety of recipes for this pudding. The humble pudding has been around for centuries, but it took Pizzeria Mozza (in Los Angeles) to elevate this dessert to a new level. I have to admit that I’ve never been to Pizzeria Mozza and tasted their budino, but I have eaten the version served at Gjelina and I really can’t imagine that there can be anything better than what I ate there.

As soon as I returned home after my first experience with the butterscotch budino, I began the search for a recipe. Thankfully that took all of about a minute as the NY Times had published Mozza’s recipe. All I needed was the right occasion to break out this incredible dessert. I knew that the combination of butterscotch and caramel would be the perfect ending to our fall dinner party.

This dessert requires a variety of pots and pans and bowls, but it’s certainly worth the effort. You need to make the pudding, which requires carmelizing sugar, among other things. You then have to make a caramel suace, but you could do this ahead of time. Then there’s the whipped cream, but that’s a no brainer.

If you read my previous post Comfort in a Bowl you already know that the dinner party never happened. What does that mean? I have a lot of butterscotch budino in the fridge. If you lived nearby I’d invite you over for dessert. I had my doubts that mine would measure up to the memory of the one I ate at Gjelina, but it did and was I happy. I’m giving you the link to the recipe and encourage you to make it if you ever want to wow your guests. It’s one of those desserts where you’re saying “I’ll just have one more bite” and before you know it you’re licking the bowl clean!

I actually made these in ramekins, but when I tried to take a photo, you couldn’t really see much.

10 thoughts on “Butterscotch Budino-The Best Dessert

  1. I wish I was there to share your budino. There is no sweet thing in the world that I love more than butterscotch and caramel!

  2. Oh what I wouldn’t give to have some of that right now! It looks sooo good!

  3. Talk about “ask and you shall receive”! I’ll bring the caramel apple pie, and we could have dessert for dinner!

  4. I’m allergic to chocolate (a fate worse than death) But your budino could be the perfect replacement-makes my mouth water-can’t wait to try it!

  5. Gorgeous dessert…..I like the photos!

  6. Pingback: The Mysterious Sunchoke « Panini Girl

  7. Pingback: Salted Caramel Ice Cream « Panini Girl

  8. Pingback: Caramel Custard | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

