September 15, 2010
paninigirl

8 comments

La Nostalgia

I can remember the day like it was yesterday. I was tired. We had spent the night in a hotel right across the street from the Salerno train station and all night long there were bells ringing, followed by an announcement about not parking in front of the building. Oh, and the the tv in the room next to us was blaring all night long. Needless to say, by morning I was exhausted. Yet, I checked out of the hotel with a big smile on my face. We were heading for the ferry to Positano.

The seas were smooth and the ferry parted on time. I sat there, entranced by the sheer beauty of the this magical place-the Amalfi Coastline. I had fantasized of coming here for years, after seeing it in a movie. This perfect day was my dream coming true. The water was a shade of blue that I can’t begin to explain. The small towns tucked into the hillsides were colorful and quaint. I longed for the boat to arrive in Positano, but I also felt that I could just stay out on the water for hours, drinking in some of the most amazing scenery I’d ever seen.

Once we passed the town of Amalfi, I knew we were getting close. When we pulled into the dock at Positano it almost was surreal. We happily handed our luggage off to a porter, not even stopping to think that we might never see it again! Up and up we walked until we found the bus that cruises through town. We missed the stop for our albergo and that didn’t even seem to matter. We were there, in Positano and nothing was going to spoil my day. When we finally settled into our room, I had one more surprise-a porch looking out on the town and the sea.

I know what I ate for lunch that day-spaghetti tossed with arugula, the sweetest cherry tomatoes and shrimp. We sat there, above the Mediterranean, sipping wine and marveling at our good fortune in being in this place of extraordinary beauty. Nostalgia, that’s what I have right now. Some serious nostalgia.

8 thoughts on “La Nostalgia

  1. You had me at the photo already, and then the post itself… well, hello nostalgia. Now I sit here with that old ache in my heart again.

  2. yes, I’m there with you, too. On our trip to Italy last year we were in Sorrento and then over to Capri and it looked like your picture. I’ll never get Italy out of my soul either.

  3. What a beautiful story! And what a view! What hotel were you at?
    I have never been to Southern Italy and I have a dream of driving down the Amalfi coast, in a convertible, with a scarf tied around my hair (just like in those old movies you see!!)….I hope you get back there soon! Maybe I will see you cruising the roads…
    ~Barbara from tesorotreasures.wordpress.com

  4. I used to live in S’Agata sui due Golfi, between Sorrento and Positano. It is a beautiful part of the world. Thank you or the photos.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

