September 6, 2010
paninigirl

9 comments

Magazine Mondays

Some years back when I was introduced to the world of blogging, there were just a few blogs that I checked out on a regular basis. One of those was Cream Puffs in Venice where the very talented Ivonne continually tempts her readers with her gorgeous photos and great recipes. Most Mondays she features a recipe that she’s found in a magazine and invites her readers to do the same. I love to join in since I always have a running list of magazine recipes that I’m itching to try. This week I am honored to host Magazine Mondays while Ivonne is out of town visiting relatives in my favorite place-yes, she’s in Italy.

The following bloggers went to their magazine piles and contributed to Magazine Mondays:
Jan at Kitchen Heals Soul tried the addictive Crack Pie from the September issue of Bon Appetit.

Tina over at Life in the slow lane at Squirrel Head Manor tempts us with Chicken with Mushrooms and Spinach from the Fall/Winter 2010 issue of Italian magazine.

I tried an incredible peach tart that was featured in the September issue of Food & Wine. I made a few changes to the recipe-I used less peaches and rather quartering them, I sliced them thinner. I also did not top the finished tart with more peaches as the recipe called for. I let a big scoop of vanilla ice cream do the honors instead.

Peach Tart

Pastry
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
pinch of salt
1 stick unsalted butter, cut into cubes
3 ounces cream cheese, cut into cubes

Spray a 10″ fluted tart pan (with removable bottom) with cooking spray. In a food processor, pulse the flour, sugar and salt until blended. Add the butter and the cream cheese and pulse until moist crumbs form. Scrape the crumbs into the tart pan and press them over the bottom and up the side in an even layer. Refrigerate until firm, 20 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line the pastry with foil and fill with pie weights or dried beans. Bake for 25 minutes. Carefully remove the foil and the weights and bake for 15 minutes longer, until the crust is completely set and lightly golden.

Filling
6 ripe peaches
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar (plus more for sprinkling)
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1-1/2 teaspoons cornmeal
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

Peel the peaches, core and slice. In a bowl using an electric mixer beat the butter with the 3/4 cup sugar until creamy. Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until smooth, then beat in the flour, cornmeal and cinnamon and the nutmeg. Spread the filling into the crust and arrange the peach slices on top in two concentric circles. Sprinkle the peaches with sugar and bake for one hour and 40 minutes, until the filling is firm and lightly browned. transfer to a rack and cool.

The original recipe called for topping the tart with more fresh peaches, so give it a try if you’d like. I was skeptical about the amount of time the recipe indicated for baking the tart, but it really did take almost one hour and forty minutes.

9 thoughts on “Magazine Mondays

  1. Lovely blog!

    This is a gorgeous tart and beautifullly presented! I need to try my hand at more tarts before the holidays are in full swing this year. Definitely bookmarking this!

  2. Simply gorgeous tart and I’d better hurry to try it before peach season is totally gone.

  3. Oh wow…this looks so good it’s my second time today checking it out! Thanks forpublishing my contribution to magazine monday, by the way 🙂
    But back to your peach tart, there is a similar recipe in the Italian magazine I am embedded in…may have to try it. Great post!

  4. This looks amazing!! Peaches are such a perfect summer food. My mom made your peach crostata a couple weeks back. It was incredible. Seriously, too good for words.

  5. That tart looks unbelievable!!!
    Thanks so much for hosting, Janie! Maybe one day we can be in Italy together!

  6. We have tons of peaches, I am going to try today, looks delicious. Last week I made peach chutney.
    I enjoy your blog.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

