September 2, 2010
paninigirl

5 comments

My New Best Friend-Cherry Tomatoes

I just came home from the farmers’ market. There are tomatoes everywhere, although most of them were overripe. The cherry tomatoes, however, were looking good and the prices have dropped in half from last week. I took this as a cue to buy a bunch of them, even though cherries are the one thing that are actually thriving in my backyard garden.

Of course, these tiny tomatoes are wonderful tossed into a salad, but what I’m really loving is roasting them briefly in the oven. Drizzled with some extra-virgin olive oil and sprinkled with kosher (or sea) salt and freshly ground pepper and you’re ready to roast them for about a half hour. I love to:

Toss them with just cooked angel hair pasta, some shredded fresh basil and a little more olive oil.

Saute slivers of zucchini in olive oil and add the tomatoes and toss with cooked pasta.

Use them as a topping for bruschetta-grill some country bread, rub with garlic while hot and top with the roasted tomatoes.

Before topping the bruschetta, spread a little ricotta cheese on the warm bread and then top with the tomatoes.

Grill a piece of fish (salmon, halibut, swordfish) and top with the roasted tomatoes.

Same as above but use as a topping for grilled or roasted chicken breasts.

Tonight I’m adding these tomatoes to sauteed poblano chiles, onions and shrimp.

I’m off to the kitchen to finish dinner, so let me know what you’d do with these sweet bites. I guess I should add that they’re perfect to eat one after another as a snack!

5 thoughts on “My New Best Friend-Cherry Tomatoes

  1. I love all your fresh vegetable ideas! I’m inspired and heading to my farmer’s market tomorrow. I love a dish that combines cherry tomatoes, cannellini beans and shrimp–roasted in the oven with bacon and sage leaves. It turns out to be a salad with olive oil and vinegar. It’s in my Tyler Florence cookbook.

  2. Wanda-that sounds delicious-I’ll have to see if that recipe is in the Tyler Florence book that I have.

  3. Looks like you’re best friends with my best friend! The other night I tossed some pasta with farmers market cherry tomatoes and a little pesto. Yummm!

  4. Pingback: Scalloped Tomatoes | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

