August 30, 2010
paninigirl

2 comments

Greek Stuffed Peppers

I saw these gorgeous, smallish red peppers at the farmers’ market and didn’t hesitate to throw a few in my bag. I wasn’t quite sure what I would do with them, but they looked so good that I couldn’t resist. I can’t remember where I read about this recipe, but it seemed like the perfect use for my peppers. Turns out that this pepper dish is featured in this month’s Saveur magazine which is all about the food of Greece. What I loved was that I had all of the ingredients there in the fridge and all I had to do was figure out what to serve with them. We were lucky to have just been given a gift of halibut caught last week off of Alaska. I topped this with pesto and roasted cherry tomatoes and the stuffed peppers were the perfect accompaniment.

Peppers Stuffed with Feta

6-anaheim or fresno chiles (about 4″-5″)
9 ox. feta, crumbled
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons Greek yogurt
1 tablespoon minced parsley
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
2 egg yolks
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup grated Parmigiano cheese

Arrange a rack 6″ from the broiler and set oven to broil. Put peppers on a baking sheet and broil, turning once, about 5 minutes. I opted to do this on the grill outside instead. Transfer to rack and let cool.

In a large bowl use a hand mixer to whip feta, oil, yogurt, parsley, zest, oregano and egg yolks. Season with salt and pepper. Make a lengthwise cut from the stem to the tip of each pepper, scoop out the seeds and ribs. Stuff some of the feta mixture into each pepper and place on a baking sheet. Chill for 30 minutes. remove from fridge and sprinkle with grated Parmigiano. Broil until the cheese is golden brown and bubbly, about 6 minutes. Serve hot.

2 thoughts on “Greek Stuffed Peppers

  1. I saw that issue but didn’t make anything from it yet. Looking at this wonderful dish inspires me to try it.

  2. Another good recipe to try.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

