August 9, 2010
paninigirl

13 comments

Tomatoes And Rice-How Nice!

I glance over at the footed pottery bowl on my kitchen counter and realized that what had been a nice pile of ripe tomatoes, had all of a sudden turned into a pyramid. I just can’t seem to stop buying these beauties whenever I see them. Last week in addition to going to my local farmers’ market, I was lucky to spend a morning at the fabulous Santa Monica Market and of course I came home with a bagful of heirlooms.

I’m not exaggerating when I say that we’re eating tomatoes with every meal. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining and I am definitely up to the challenge of finding new things to do with them. I’ve been thinking about a recipe for stuffed tomatoes that I saw some time ago over at Judy’s Over A Tuscan Stove and it seemed like they would be the perfect accompaniment to a piece of grilled fish. In the end I couldn’t find any fish that looked good and we ended up with a vegetarian meal that was a salute to summer-the stuffed tomatoes, zucchini gratin and green beans tossed with pesto. Hooray for August!

Pomodori Ripieni

6 round, ripe tomatoes
1/2 cup uncooked rice-I used arborio
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons chopped basil
salt
2 tablespoons grated parmigiano-reggiano
extra-virgin olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut off the top 1/3 of the tomatoes and save. Scoop out the seeds and pulp, chop and put in a bowl. Add the rice, garlic, basil, parmigiano-reggiano and season with salt. Moisten with a little olive oil. Fill the tomatoes 2/3 full with the rice mixture and put top back on. Place stuffed tomatoes in a baking dish and pour in 1/2 cup water. Cover with foil and bake for half an hour. Remove foil and bake for 15 minutes more or until, rice is done. Serves: 6 as a side dish

This is great right out of the oven or at room temperature.

13 thoughts on “Tomatoes And Rice-How Nice!

  1. This looks delicious!

  2. Yum! What a great little recipe. I can’t wait to try it, hopefully with the tomatoes form the garden. Thanks!

  3. Thank you so much for this post today! I made these for dinner tonight and they were delicious, a hit with everyone in the house!

  4. I would cook a bunch and eat them for the next few days. They look lovely and a great quick recipe for many guests. Thanks!

  5. I love tomatoes and this looks awesome. I can’t wait to try it.

  6. These look so delicious and sound so easy. I can’t believe that uncooked rice would cook inside the tomatoes in such a short time, but will take your word for it.

    • Peg-I hope you noticed that it says to cook for a half hour covered ad then uncover and cook 15 minutes more. I actually lengthened the cooking time form the original recipe.

  7. Pingback: Identify This Vegetable « Panini Girl

  8. Pingback: Scalloped Tomatoes | Panini Girl

  9. Pingback: Help! | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

