July 22, 2010
paninigirl

6 comments

Foraging For Fennel

I recently finished reading the latest Frances Mayes book about her life in Tuscany. I’m not a huge fan of her books, but I am a sucker for any book about Italy and so when a friend loaned it to me, I dove right in. There are some interesting recipes included and I will probably give a few a try. The menu for an antipasto platter made me want to start cooking and throw a big summer party.

Something in the book reminded me about harvesting wild fennel for its aromatic and flavorful pollen. I am lucky to have an unlimited supply growing not even a block from my house and so yesterday I set out with my clippers to bring home a bundle. I did attempt this last year and I have to tell you that you need a lot of fennel flowers to get even a little pollen. I barely got a teaspoon worth after all was said and done. I had decided at that time that I probably wouldn’t go to the trouble again. Well, this time I brought home a bigger bunch and we’ll see how it goes. I will say that the little bit that I did use last time was delicious sprinkled on a pork roast.

6 thoughts on “Foraging For Fennel

  1. Hi! I just stumbled across your blog today…I’m also obsessed with Italy, cooking and photography! (I love your banner BTW)!

    We’re in the process of buying a little ramshackle of a place in Palata, Molise and I just started blogging about it…Not too interesting yet, but I thought I’d share that I just made Frances Mayes Lemon Cake (from Under the Tuscan Sun) and it was wonderful!

    I’m looking forward to reading your archives and learning more! 🙂

    -Heidi

  2. Hi PG-

    Hmmm..Perhaps because I was doing some “construction” on it yesterday?! Here it is again: http://livinglavidalunaitaliano.blogspot.com/

    BTW, I was reading some of your archives yesterday and I’m wondering if you can recommend a good Italian class/course in SoCal? I need to sign up for one ASAP!

    🙂

    -Heidi

  3. I’ve never heard of using fennel pollen, I love that idea. I used to have tonnes of it on my allotment, if only I had known then. Bx

  4. I’ve never used it. Heard of it, though.

    Hey, would you stop by my blog and tell me what you think about the last thing I posted? I think you, of all people, would probably have a legit opinion on the subject. I’d appreciate your input.

  5. Pingback: Porchetta For Beginners | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

