July 19, 2010
paninigirl

5 comments

A Summer Staple

The wait is over. Tomatoes are finally beginning to taste like tomatoes are meant to taste-luscious, juicy, and sweet. I wish I could say that my plants had lots of ripe fruit, but this summer’s crop seems to be struggling a little. I think it may have something to do with the colder than usual spring. Whatever the reason, I’m trying to be patient and thankfully I have access to a farm stand right down the road whose tomatoes are faring better than mine.

Yesterday at the grocery store I noticed that roma (plum) tomatoes were on sale for three pounds for $1-how can you beat that! I filled a bag and headed home to the kitchen to roast them. This is super easy and I love having a jar of these in the fridge. Chopped and tossed with a fruity olive oil and basil, this makes the perfect topping for spaghetti or angel hair. You don’t really need a recipe, it’s that simple.

Roasted Tomatoes

3 pounds roma tomatoes
2 large cloves garlic, thinly sliced
Fresh thyme
Extra virgin olive oil
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Slice tomatoes in half lengthwise and scoop out seeds. Place in a large bowl with garlic slices, fresh thyme sprigs and coat with olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Place tomatoes halves cut side down on a rimmed baking sheet and roast for 35 minutes. Remove from oven and peel off skins and discard. When cool, store in container in refrigerator. Be sure to include all the tasty juices and garlic slices that may be left on the baking sheet.

These are wonderful along with a little ricotta cheese as a topping for bruschetta.

5 thoughts on “A Summer Staple

  1. Nothing better than a home grown tomato-but WHERE did you find them 3 lbs. for a $1.00???

  2. Genius!! I’ve just bought a bag of tomatoes from Macknade for a £1 and I have three kilner jars, which Ruby bought me, that are standing empty in the cupboard….I’ll get that oven on!! B x

  3. 3 pounds for a dollar?! Are you kidding!? See… you’re making me want to crank up the oven. But, it’ll be 85 degrees in my house if I do!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

