May 31, 2010
paninigirl

6 comments

Still Baking Bread

I may have come late to the “no knead bread” party, but I’ve been making up for lost time. Last week we were the lucky recipients of a dinner cooked by our dear friends L & B and they treated us to pizza made with the no knead dough. Thin crusted and crispy, it was some of the best “homemade” pizza I’ve ever eaten. I decided then and there that maybe I should buy Jim Lahey’s book My Bread and branch out from the basic recipe.

I ordered the book on Amazon, paid basic shipping and there it was on my doorstop the following day. Up until receiving the book I had made white bread two or three times. I was anxious to move onto something else and definitely want to recreate the mushroom pizza we sampled. I really wanted to make the walnut bread, but realized we were out of walnuts. I finally settled on “stecca”, small stick-like baguettes. The recipe makes four skinny loaves and I topped two with cherry tomatoes, one with olives and left one plain. They were just what I had hoped-perfect with a little cheese and a glass of wine. It was almost like we were in Italy, almost but not quite…

Right now I have a batch of cheese bread rising. Can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!

6 thoughts on “Still Baking Bread

  1. Yum!! That looks so delicious.
    Debra

  2. Just been really naughty and bought ‘My Bread’ on Amazon…haven’t bought a cookery book for ages, had to go to therapy to try and kick the habit, might have just fallen off the wagon!! Can’t wait for it to arrive! Wish I was in Califonia right now, miss you, B x

  3. Debra-thanks for the compliment-it’s almost too easy!

    B.-you’re going to love the book…Can’t wait to see what you make.

  4. I ordered a similar book but I don’t really like it. Maybe I should try the one you have.

  5. The bread was fantastic Janie! (Of course… everything you make is amazing 😉 Glad I know about your blog. I can visit it and drool… Have fun at the cookout today!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

