April 13, 2010
paninigirl

10 comments

In My Future


photo from Venice Daily Photo

Why can’t I run down the street and pick up one of these for today’s lunch? About year and a half ago there were rumors of an Italian market opening right here in my home town. I had visions of shelves loaded with Italian pastas and oils, barrels overflowing with olives, counters piled high with panini and cases stocked with cheeses and prepared foods. I dreamed of not only shopping there, but working there, enticing others to sample and savor. The sign has been in the window for so long. Nothing has happened. Maybe this summer will be the right moment and I will be right there, anticipating this long overdue addition to my town.

In the mean time, this is my future, just not here. After a very long plane ride, I’ll be right there, ready to eat!

10 thoughts on “In My Future

  1. Ciao! Ever since my return to the states, I too have been craving the simple pleasures of the Italian market… how wonderful that you are returning shortly!! Lucca & the surrounding area are beautiful 🙂 So glad I found your blog! x

  2. Those sandwiches look soo fresh-you can make one on the bread you baked in the pot yesterday! Did it come out good?

  3. I can taste them too! Soon, soon…

  4. I’m sooooooooo jealous!!!

  5. Beautiful picture! We can’t even buy that good bread here.

  6. I, too, crave those beautiful sandwiches that taste heavenly. I have tried and tried to recreate them here at home, but they never quite taste the same! I really think it’s the bread – something in the Italian air makes it what it is!!! If you ever find the secret to making this bread here, PLEASE let me know 🙂

    Enjoy your trip!!

  7. Wow, I miss a sandwich like that, I think it time to return!!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

