March 31, 2010
paninigirl

7 comments

Berry Tiramisu With Lemon Curd

A few weeks back I decided to take a look back over last year’s issues of Bon Appetit and clip out recipes I’d like to try. When the magazine first arrives in the mail I seem to mark a bunch of recipes that look interesting, but when I go back through again, I realize that many of them are for dishes that I don’t really need a recipe for! I did end up clipping a few and who knows how many I’ll ever try, but there was one that seemed perfect for the season-Berry Tiramisu with Lemon Curd.

The recipe featured in the magazine is more of a summer dish since it calls for mixed berries-raspberries, blueberries, blackberries and strawberries. Of course I could have gone out and found all of these in the grocery store, imported form who knows where, but I prefer to wait for the season and go with what’s available locally right now. I modified the recipe to use strawberries only. The original recipe called for lime curd, but seeing that I had a big bowl of gorgeous lemons, I knew my dessert would be made with lemon curd. Here’s what I did, adpated from Bon Appetit.

Berry Tiramisu with Lemon Curd

Berries

1 pint fresh strawberries, sliced
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup powdered sugar
4 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Put water and sugar in a saucepan over medium heat, simmer until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and cool to room temperature. When cool, pour syrup and lemon juice over strawberries and chill until cold, about 4 hours.

Syrup and Ladyfinger Layer

3-1/2 ounces (half of a 7 oz. package crisp ladyfingers-do not use soft ones)
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup sugar
2 strips lemon peel (shaved with a vegetable peeler)

Combine water, sugar and lemon peel in a saucepan over medium heat,stirring until sugar dissolves. Cool to room temperarture and discard peel. Using a pastry brush, brush ladyfingers on both sides with syrup. Arrange in bottom of rectangular dish (I use one that was about 7″x10″), cutting to fit the bottom of the dish. Pour chilled berry mixture over.

Mascarpone Topping

1-8 ounce container mascarpone cheese
1/4 cup whipping cream
1 cup lemon curd (use your favorite recipe or a good quality store bought)

Whip mascarpone and whipping cream together until thickened. Fold in lemon curd. Spread whipped mixture evenly over strawberries. Cover and chill for at least 8 hours. Before serving, shave some freshly grated lemon zest over the topping. Serves:6

We had this for dessert the day I made it and it was really good. I sampled it the following day and to be honest, it was even better, so go ahead and make it the day before.

7 thoughts on “Berry Tiramisu With Lemon Curd

  1. That looks so tasty, I really want to try it. Tiramisu is one of my favourite desserts but I have never attempted to make it.

  2. I love lemon curd with anything! I have lots of lemons, and am making some this morning. I also love lime curd!

  3. That looks like the best thing ever!

  4. Well it seems to be tiramisu season for sure! This looks so refreshing … love it!

  5. Pingback: Cream Puffs In Venice - Magazine Mondays: Salad!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

