March 8, 2010
paninigirl

5 comments

Dutch Babies For Breakfast

My friend from Cucina Cara Mia joined me this morning for coffee and to talk about her new venture at a local farmers market. Of course I can’t just serve coffee without a little something to eat, but time was of the essence and I hadn’t baked anything over the weekend. I spied an old cookbook on my overcrowded shelf and remembered a dish that I used to make years ago when I first began cooking. The recipe is called “Dutch Babies” and is actually a baked pancake, similar to Yorkshire Pudding. It’s super easy to throw together and pop in the oven and in 25 minutes breakfast is ready.

When you pull your dutch baby out of the oven it’s all puffed up and almost immediately it deflates, but it’s still delicious. Be sure to serve it right away, either with powdered sugar and fresh berries or top with butter and warm maple syrup like I did today.

Dutch Babies

2 tablespoons butter
3 eggs
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Place the butter in a heavy 10″ skillet and melt it in the oven.

Meanwhile prepare the batter. Beat the eggs in a medium-sized bowl for 30 seconds. Gradually add the flour while you beat it constantly. Pour in the milk and salt and mix to incorporate thoroughly.

When the butter is melted, tip the pan to coat the bottom with it. Pour in the batter, return the pan to the oven and bake for 20 minutes. then lower the oven to 300 degree and bake for an additional 5 minutes. Remove from oven, cut into wedges and serve immediately. Serves: 4

I have to mention that when I opened the cookbook written inside the front cover was an inscription from my great friend A. who had given me this as a gift for my college graduation. Seems like it was just yesterday… Thanks A.!

5 thoughts on “Dutch Babies For Breakfast

  1. Thank you for the delicious Dutch Babies-what a treat, the photo didn’t do it justice, I usually have grape nuts or some other cereal for breakfast. I appreciate having one of your recipes from a very special cookbook you received!

  2. What a glorious blog and such scrumptious posts. What a visual delight. Thank you for sharing your photos and special recipes. Nan

  3. Hey! I went on your blog because your crescents looked delicious, but then this dutch baby inspired me to make my own, and so I did this morning, following this recipe that you’ve put up. It was very yummy. I baked it in a square baking pan though, since I didn’t have an iron skillet, so it looks kinda funny ’cause the sides started to curl inwards like a wave. I threw on some berries and dusted some powdered sugar on it and I had a very delightful breakfast ;]

  4. Pingback: Dutch Baby « Fatty Dumpling

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

