February 23, 2010
paninigirl

3 comments

A Taste Of Valle D’Aosta


Nestled in the alps in the northwestern corner of Italy is the tiny region of Valle d’Aosta. This area is surrounded by some of the highest mountains in Europe- Monte Bianco (Mont Blanc) and Cervino (the Matterhorn)- to name a few. Of course in the colder months it is a haven for winter sports. In the spring the valleys of this high country are filled with grazing cows whose rich milk is used for producing the delicious fontina cheese. As you can well imagine, the food from this area is hearty and full of flavor.

I have yet to visit this beautiful part of Italy but I was immediately drawn to a recipe from the region that I saw in Lidia Bastianich’s book Lidia Cooks From The Heart Of Italy. It’s the perfect one dish dinner for a cold winter evening-potatoes, savoy cabbage and beef layered together, cooked for almost three hours and topped with creamy fontina cheese. I love being able to assemble the main dish ahead of time, especially when entertaining. We’re hosting another Sunday evening dinner with friends and I thought this might be a good dish to serve, but I couldn’t wait that long to try it. I think a big salad and a warm loaf of crusty bread and dinner is served!

3 thoughts on “A Taste Of Valle D’Aosta

  1. I love Lidia. I don’t have that book, but that dish looks wonderful.

  2. This looks wonderful!! Anything with fontina cheese (especially the ones found in this Italian region) has to be delicious!!! I was fortunate to go to Val d’Aosta last year over New Year’s and my husband skiied Cervinia!! But, while we were there, we meandered into a small cheese shop – the smell was absolutely divine!!! The cheeses were so flavorful and it was a real joy. Also, while I was at the ski resort’s lodge, waiting for my husband to finish his ski run, I tried their “polenta concia” – polenta smothered in fontina cheese!!! Needless to say, it was delicious 🙂

    Good luck with the recipe and let us know how it turns out!!

    ~Barbara

  3. I love Italy and I love the Val D’Aosta. The food is sensational and so is the landscape. But my favorite place in Italy to ski is on the other side of the alps, near Austria – the Val Gardena – just a little to the west of Cortina. equally delicious food there too.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

