February 15, 2010
paninigirl

1 comment

All You Need Is Love…And Chocolate!

I’m a day late with my best wishes for Valentine’s Day, but the intention is there. I meant to blog about something chocolate for the holiday, but I ran out of time as I had better things to do. Palma from Palmabellas Passions stopped by for coffee this afternoon with her husband. Even though she said “no food” I knew I had to make a little something. I decided immediately that it had to be chocolate for two reasons-it was Valentine’s Day and in just two days Lent begins and that’s it for me and chocolate for six very long weeks. Okay-so I made the brownies for myself. I admit it!

I decided to make one and a half times the recipe because I wanted big, thick gooey brownies. The original recipe makes great, moist brownies, but they aren’t very thick. I’ve increased the recipe before with success, but this time I guess I wasn’t paying enough attention, because after the brownies were in the oven, I realized that I added too much flour! At any rate, they were okay (not stellar) and I’m sort of saved because Palma wasn’t eating any dessert. I hope her husband Brad was okay with the finished product. I, however, am looking to eat as much chocolate as I can before Ash Wednesday and so I will be finishing off the brownies.

My Mom’s Brownies

2 squares unsweetened baker’s chocolate
1 stick (4 oz.) unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs, beaten
2/3 cup flour

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. I like to line an 8″ x 8″ pan with aluminum foil and then spray that with cooking spray or brush with melted butter. This way you can remove the brownies from the pan for slicing.

Together in a saucepan melt the unsweetened chocolate and butter. Set aside to cool. Add sugar to a mixing bowl and add cooled chocolate mixture. Stir in vanilla and eggs. Add flour and beat until smooth. Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 25 minutes.

I like to add chopped nuts. This time I used hazelnuts which I had toasted, skinned and chopped. In an attempt to make up some of the moistness that I lost with the extra flour I frosted the brownies with a little ganache (chocolate melted with cream) that I mixed with some Nutella! Not too bad…

P.S. This is the recipe with the original amounts.

One thought on “All You Need Is Love…And Chocolate!

  1. Brad certainly enjoyed the brownies, and it was great to see you both! I will remember NO chocolate on Palma Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

