February 9, 2010
paninigirl

1 comment

Where Do You Think I Am?

At first glance I could be standing in front of a building in any American city. The sign clearly says “Wine Bar” in english. Only, I’m not in the USA, I’m in Rome! I’m outside the enoteca (wine bar) which is part of the huge Gusto complex located at Piazza Augusto Imperatore.

It’s really quite an interesting concept encompassing an osteria with classic Roman dishes, two other restaurants (one featuring fish and vegetarian entrees), a pizzeria, a wine shop, a wine bar, formaggeria (cheese shop) and a culinary store with all types of cooking equipment and cookbooks!

Of course I had to check out the cookware shop and we dined once at the Osteria, which I remember being good, but not unbelievable. The place that we were drawn back to over and over during our stay in Rome was the wine bar. It was a little intimidating as neither of us spoke any Italian at the time and we were the only americans in there, but we loved it! We ordered great Italian wines by the glass and for just a few euros per plate, you can help yourself to their selection of “snacks”. I can’t remember exactly what they were, but it was all delicious.

Thanks to Lola at Roma Every Day I now know that Gusto has a Sunday brunch. Now, I am not really brunch buffet type person, but if it’s being served at Gusto, I’m willing to give it a try!

One thought on “Where Do You Think I Am?

  1. Sounds like a great place, be it in Rome or Carlsbad, especially if they are serving brunch!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

