February 8, 2010
paninigirl

1 comment

Walnut Crescents

I have to have a cookie with my morning cappuccino. I just need one, but if I don’t have it, I’m looking for something sweet to nibble on all morning long. I try to have a container full of homemade cookies on the counter at all times, but if not, I’ll settle for something store bought. Lately I’ve done a variety of things with hazelnuts and with almonds so it seemed time for a cookie with walnuts. This recipe came from the same old issue of Bon Appetit as the Sweet Cheese Puffs from last week and I’ve decided that maybe I should bake my way through all the recipes featured in the article.

These walnut crescents couldn’t be easier-no chilling of the dough and there’s only five ingredients (not counting the chocolate-that was my little addition).

Walnut Crescents

1 stick unsalted butter
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup unsifted all-purpose flour
3/4 cup (2 ounces) finely ground walnuts

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Beat the butter until light and then gradually add the sugar and blend well. Add vanilla. Stir in the flour and ground nuts. Using about a teaspoonful of dough for each cookie, form the dough into a crescent and place on prepared baking sheet. Bake until just lightly browned, about 10-12 minutes. I always rotate the sheets halfway through. Let cool on rack.

I dipped half of the batch into semisweet chips that I melted in a double boiler. The rest I dusted with a little confectioners sugar. The recipe said it the yield was about 4 dozen, bit mine must be a little larger-I got about 34 crescents.

One thought on “Walnut Crescents

  1. Yum, especially nice since they aren’t overly sweet. Perfect with a cappuccino.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

