January 10, 2010
paninigirl

5 comments

Sunday Suppers

I love having friends over for dinner. There’s something very satisfying about working in the kitchen cooking food to share with loved ones. I get almost as much satisfaction from the preparation as I do from the time around the table together. In a perfect world I would have a small dinner party every Saturday evening, but no matter what jobs I’ve had, I never have had Saturdays off. That makes it difficult to entertain-I just don’t have enough time to get it all together by the time I arrive home and in all honesty, I would be really happy to have someone cooking for me at the end of my work week.

Taking a cue from the fabulous “Lucques” restaurant in Los Angeles, I’ve started doing Sunday Suppers. Some years back the chef/owner, Suzanne Goin, started doing prix-fix dinners on Sunday evenings featuring what I would call seasonal comfort food. Even though it’s a work day on Monday for most of my guests, I haven’t had anyone say that they couldn’t come. I start the evening early and try to keep the menu fairly simple.

Tonight’s menu:

Prosciutto and Gruyere Mini Panini Bites on Brioche

Classic “Italian American” Lasagna
Arugula Endive Salad
Garlic Bread

Profiteroles with Ice Cream and Fudge Sauce

Want to join us?

5 thoughts on “Sunday Suppers

  1. The profiteroles look quite amazing! Our Sunday supper is often just soup and sandwiches so I am seriously impressed!

    Pomona x

  2. Yes, we would join you for ANY supper! Beautiful dessert! But I think you need a Sunday supper in Palm Desert!

  3. Yes please! I love your lasagna, it’s gorgeous, I’ll never forget that meal; drinking wine in your garden and seeing hummingbirds for the first time in my life, a wonderful memory! B

  4. What’s the secret to making these profiteroles? They look like a fun and impressive little treat!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

