November 17, 2009
paninigirl

1 comment

What’s For Dinner?

I should be living somewhere in Europe, at least part of the time. Okay, I guess I may as well be honest and come right out and say that I should be living in Italy for a few months each year. I think I qualify as I shop and cook like a European. I’ve never been a big fan of the large supermarkets and although I do shop in our local large grocery store, I am usually buying food for whatever I am cooking on that given day. I rarely use a “shopping cart” and prefer to use the small basket or I just gather what I need and carry it around cradled in my arms. Yes, I’ve been known to go into the market just about every day of the week to grab three or four items.

Even when I know I should be shopping for more than one meal, I just can’t bring myself to do it. All of our vegetables come from the weekly farmers’ market and I purchase meat or fish as we need it at a local small shop or I go to my stash in the freezer from a Costco purchase (their meat is not only a great value, but also high quality). Today I ran down to the supermarket fully intending to buy enough for a few meals this week, but I ended up with only a couple of staples. I suppose it has something to do with needing to feel inspired to make a certain meal. I have to feel that today I will cook this dish because it’s perfect for tonight’s supper.

I enjoy shopping and cooking like this. I only wish that we had the variety and quantity of exquisite food shops that you find not only in the big cities, but in just about every town in Italy- the pastry shop (pasticceria), bakery for bread (panificio), butchers (macelleria), pizzeria, prepared food shop (rosticceria), seafood store (pescheria) and of course gelateria (which needs no translation). Okay, enough of this, I’m making myself crazy!

One thought on “What’s For Dinner?

  1. You and I are cut out of the same mold!!! Reading your blog post made me think I was reading about me! But seriously, I agree with you about it being great visiting little specialty shops in Italy to get what you want fresh every day. And I think the best part is that the merchants know you when you walk in the door – it’s like visiting all your friends while also getting your shopping done!!!

    I found the same in Paris!! While exploring the Ile St. Charles (I think that’s what it is called), the neighborhood had a little bread shop, a cheese shop, a salami shop…a separate shop for everything!! It was all so quaint.

    Ahh…Europe….so delightful!!! I’m with you – living there for a few months out of the year would be wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

