November 11, 2009
paninigirl

3 comments

Italy Withdrawal

Yes, I have it, bad. I can’t believe how long it’s really been since I’ve been there-a year and a half. It’s hard enough to think about it, let alone actually write it down and see it on paper. On my last day of language school in Arezzo I told my teachers that I would return, soon. Of course that was my intention, but sometimes real life gets in the way and all doe not go according to plan.
arno view

Italy is part of my everyday life. It’s in my daily schedule with the blogs I read, the places I research for future travel and the food I cook. I frequently have RAI (Italian TV) on in the background and always listen to Italian music in the car. I spend time alone thinking of how I would say things in Italian. Lately I’ve been waking up with Italian songs in my head. I think I’m way overdue for a trip there!

I know when the time is right we’ll be back and will visit old favorites but will definitely explore places where we’ve never been. I want to see Cinque Terre and arrive there by boat. Ever since we got lost down on the docks of Genoa on our first trip to Italy we vowed to return and spend a night or two seeing a better part of the city. And on to Piemonte to explore and swirl and sip its luscious wines and to finally visit Baur B & B. And what about Bologna-we still haven’t been there and I dream of piles and piles of tortellini! And that’s just a start-I don’t have time right now for my dreams in the south so I’ll save that for another post. A presto!

3 thoughts on “Italy Withdrawal

  1. I hope you will have another Italy dream trip soon, and especially a stay with Diana, Micha and Max. You will LOVE it!

  2. Italy is waiting for you! It’s so good reading such enthusiasm. But you’ll have to plan a long stay, because there’s so much to do. Cinqueterre and the hills of Piedmont for wine tasting are great options, but then… you’re only at the beginning! I believe there’s not one region that is not worth a (long) visit, for a reason or another.

    Meantime, enjoy Italian Music and TV. And… what about reading a few Italian books? If you need advice, just ring the bell!
    Ciao,

    • Simon-thank you for commenting. I love Italy-my grandparents were from Campania and I’ve been to their town. I wish I had learned to speak the language when I was young and they were talking to me. So far I’ve been to Umbria, Tuscany, Puglia, Veneto, Campania, Lazio, Le Marche, Emiglia Romagna and Lombardia and would love to live in Italy for a year and see everything!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

