November 10, 2009
paninigirl

3 comments

Food From The Past

biscuits

What is it that makes us crave a certain food? Clear out of the blue, I had an urge for chicken a la king! This is a dish that I probably haven’t had since my mother made it oh so many years ago. I couldn’t stop thinking about it and could actually remember exactly what it tasted like. Of course I knew right then that I would be making this classic dish from the fifties.

You don’t really need a recipe for it-it’s basically chicken that’s been poached and then served in a white sauce over biscuits or rice. I added sauteed mushrooms and peas to mine. I’ve also seen it made with pimento. I grew up having it with biscuits, so of course that’s what I had to have. It was exactly as I remembered it. As I savored each bite I realized that the flaky biscuits covered with chicken in the creamy, sherry laced sauce was another dose of comfort food! Sometimes you can recreate a little piece of your past.

Baking Powder Biscuits

2-1/2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup vegetable shortening, chilled
1 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Sift 2 cups flour, baking powder, and salt into large bowl.

Add shortening to flour mixture and cut in with a fork or pastry blender until it has the texture of coarse meal. Add the milk and stir with a fork, until mixture pulls away from the sides of the bowl. Mixture will be sticky.

Lightly flour a cutting board and turn dough out and knead gently for about 30 seconds until dough is no longer sticky. Pat dough into a 9″ circle about 3/4″ thick. Cut with a cookie cutter and place on to baking sheet. Bake until golden, about 12-15 minutes. Makes:12 biscuits

3 thoughts on “Food From The Past

  1. I have yet to make a successful biscuit. Yours look lovely! I have a Paul Prudhomme Chicken a la King recipe that is fantastic. He says to serve it over puff pastry. I bet the biscuits are better…

  2. When I see a Swanson frozen turkery dinner in the grocery store freezer it reminds me of Saturday nights at our house-which meant Mom and Dad were going out, and we got yummy frozen dinners….I would prefer what you are having…LOL!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

