November 2, 2009
paninigirl

6 comments

Finally Fall

lid

It’s “officially” fall. We’ve turned the clocks back and its dark way too early. I wish I could say that there’s a chill in the air, but here in southern California it still feels like the middle of August. Despite the temperature, I’m embracing autumn and cooking with the incredible cool weather vegetables that are showing up at the farmers market.

This exquisite kabocha squash had been sitting on my counter for a few days when I remembered a recipe for a stuffed pumpkin I had torn out of Gourmet last November. Crispy french bread croutons layered with cream and shredded gruyere and emmental cheeses couldn’t be anything but delicious!
stuffed kabocha

Roast Squash with Cheese “Fondue”

1 small baguette cut into 1/2″ slices (about 7 oz.)
1 (6 lb.) pumpkin or kabocha squash
1-1/2 cups heavy cream
1 cup reduced sodium chicken broth
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
6 oz. grated gruyere
6 oz. grated emmental
1 tablespoon olive oil

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees with rack in lower third of oven. Toast baguette slices on baking sheet until tops are crisp, about 7 minutes. Transfer to rack and cool. Lower oven to 400 degrees.

Remove top of squash by cutting a circle around stem. Scrape out seeds and any loose fibers from inside with a spoon. Season inside with salt.

Whisk together cream, broth, nutmeg, 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper in a bowl. Mix in cheeses in another bowl. Put a layer of toasted bread in bottom of squash, then cover with about a cup of cheese and then top with 1/2 cup cream mixture. Continue layering until the squash is filled to about 1/2″ from top. You may have some bread and cheese left over.

Cover squash with top. Put in an oiled roasting pan and brush outside of squash with olive oil. Bake until squash is tender, about 1 to 1-1/2 hours.
Cool slightly, slice into wedges and enjoy! Serves: 8

Take a look at a similar recipe that I tried last year that uses mascarpone cheese and sauteed mushrooms in the filling.

6 thoughts on “Finally Fall

  1. Oh, man, that sounds good! Do you scoop out bites of squash with the cheesy goodness? I want that!

  2. Oh my goodness that looks good! I bet it smells delicious too. I just started a butternut squash risotto, but I’d trade it in a heartbeat!

    • Palma-I have butternut squash risotto in my meal plan for this week! (I don’t really have a firm weekly plan but I have been craving that). This stuffed squash really isn’t that much work and it is incredible.

  3. risotto is one of my favorite foods but that fondue looks incredible. nice work.

  4. yumyumyumyumyum! Give some bread to dip and I’ll be a happy camper!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

