October 31, 2009
paninigirl

6 comments

One Last Look

pomodoro

Last weekend I begrudgingly cleared out all of our tomato plants. It’s been a great four month run and I loved walking out the back door and bringing in the bounty. I got to the point where I took it for granted that there were tomatoes to pluck whenever the urge struck, but reality set in and I knew it was time to say good bye to the summer tomato.

J. went down the hill from our house today to the farm where I’ve always purchased tomatoes when we didn’t have our own plants. We haven’t shopped there in months. He came home with five perfect tomatoes, two of them heirlooms. Hard to believe, but this photo is of one tomato! There was a little mozzarella di bufula in the fridge and for a moment it seemed like it was August again.

6 thoughts on “One Last Look

  1. I wish we would have had a better tomato year. I did manage to make decent gnocchi today for the first time in my life. So, I guess that’s something.

  2. Our tomatoes were just ok this year – but way better than the supermarket in any event. Thanks for leaving that comment on my blog. How cool that you grew up in Sleepy Hollow and I was just there. Yes, definitely want to go back to Stone Barns.

  3. I might actually attempt growing tomatoes next year, if I can have home grown through the end of October – yum!

  4. I know that feeling for sure! Sad … but hey … they’ll be back next year!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

