October 29, 2009
paninigirl

4 comments

Arezzo, Are You There?

arezzo 2

Well, of course Arezzo is there. The problem is that I’m not! I left my heart in this charming town on the eastern edge of Tuscany and will not rest until I am back there strolling around all of its familiar lanes.

Just about two years ago I started researching language schools in Italy. I was on a quest! I would find the perfect place to go and study the language, even though at the time, I wasn’t even sure I’d really be able to go. I approached this task as I do when planning a vacation-do the research, make the plans and hope for the best. My good friend V. from Italian class joined in on the hunt and we talked and researched and hoped to travel to Italy together.

Both V. and I did go to Italy to study her beautiful language, but not together. The timing just didn’t work and one day J. said to me “if you want to go, just go on your own.” You don’t have t ask me twice! I ran upstairs and went to the Cultura Italiana website and registered for class. Thankfully I had already made the decision that this was the school I wanted to attend. I originally had declared “I’m not studying anywhere in Tuscany”. I wanted to be off the beaten path, in a non-touristy area and believe it or not, Arezzo turned out to be just what I wanted-not too big, not too small, few tourists, gorgeous churches and Italian being spoken everywhere. Until next time…

4 thoughts on “Arezzo, Are You There?

  1. Years ago, way before we looked for a place to buy in Italy, we were staying in Tuscany and did a day trip to Arezzo. At first, I was not sure about it; I was still used to the “tourist-perfect” version of Italian cities. But in the hours I was there, the more I liked it. The antiques market was on the day we were there, and I liked the fact that it was slightly more urban and slightly less ethereal than other places I had visited up to that time. I remember thinking, this is a city to live in, not just to visit.

    • Diana-when I started looking at schools, I knew I didn’t want to be in Florence-too many Americans speaking English! Once I realized I was going alone I decided against a larger city. Arezzo turned out to be perfect in size with museums, lots of churches, good food, good bus and train access and I rarely heard any English being spoken (except for the weekend of the antique fair). And of course, wonderful, gracious Italians.

  2. My aunt and uncle actually have a place in Arezzo…and believe it or not, I have never been there! Now I really think I should make a point about visiting this town 🙂 I hope you get back there soon. And…how long were you there studying Italian? I am actually contemplating a course in Deruta to study the art of majolica painting…but, like you, I am in the research stage right now and am not even sure I can even swing it. But dreaming about it is LOTS of fun right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

