Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

October 20, 2009
paninigirl

7 comments

“The Best Scones”

scones

Let me state right up front that the pronouncement of the best scones comes from J., who was smart enough to grab one just as I pulled them from the oven. I have to admit I to am pretty enamored of this recipe. I’ve made scones many times in the past-from the fluffy ones that resemble biscuits, to ones that are more cake-like in texture to today’s that are denser, more like a shortcake.

I just finished reading an enjoyable book called “Bread Alone”. I was drawn to its story since it centers on the life of a woman whose life is suddenly turned upside down by divorce and in her quest to heal, she takes a job baking bread in a small bakery. It almost made me want to look for an apprenticeship baking bread, but there’s no way I want to go to work in the middle of the night! I will have to settle for baking the occasional loaf or two in my own kitchen and keep my day job.

The book included various recipes for bread and also for these delicious scones. They suggested using dried cranberries and orange zest, but I had golden raisins in the cupboard, so that’s what I used instead. Slathered with a bit of Irish butter while warm and you have one great morning treat.

Scones with Golden Raisins

3 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
5 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, chilled and cut into small cubes
1/2 cup golden raisins
1/2 cup chopped, toasted pecans
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
2 tablespoons coarse sugar crystals

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine flour, sugar,baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Cut in butter with a pastry blender or fork until dough is in pea size crumbs. Mix in raisins and pecans. Whisk milk and egg in a small bowl and add to dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated and dough clumps together in a bowl.

Divide dough in half and roll each piece on floured surface to 1/2″ to 3/4″ thick circle. Brush dough with a little cream or milk and sprinkle with sugar. Cut into wedges, place on parchment lined baking sheet. Bake until golden brown, about 25 minutes.

Yield: 16 scones

7 thoughts on ““The Best Scones”

  1. I’ve been afraid to try scones, though I love them!

  2. They look very nice – I think I will have to try those!

    Pomona x

  3. Pingback: What’s For Breakfast? | Panini Girl

  4. My husband went from nights back onto days at his job. Seriously, I’m gaining weight cooking meals again! This week I began my diet, and hoping next week will be better! So, I better try these yummy scones before I get super serious!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

