October 5, 2009
paninigirl

2 comments

Baked Shrimp Scampi

Day after day J. has been saying “I want shrimp, can we have some shrimp tonight? As an appetizer or in a spicy sauce over pasta?”. I am more than happy to take requests, but the meal has to go with the flow of the week. We had pasta with a tomato based sauce last night so I had to say “no” to the plea for shrimp with a spicy sauce. I pride myself on planning our meals and mixing it up a bit so we aren’t eating the same things night after night. I knew that I better come up with something that would satisfy this crustacean lover.

The first part of this challenge involved getting good shrimp. I will admit right now that I am not a Costco shopper. I love a lot of their products, but I hate shopping there. Yes, the prices are great, but it’s too big and too crowded for me. J. does most of the shopping there. I am willing to pay more just to avoid the experience!

So I braved the crowds on a weekend, no less, and went in for shrimp. I thought about grilling the gorgeous, large shrimp that I had purchased, but decided I wanted something that I could do ahead and pop into the oven at the last minute. I chose this Ina dish that I’ve made more than a few times from her Back to Basics book-Baked Shrimp Scampi-thank you Ina for this very easy and great variation on a classic shrimp dish. I’ve adapted it a little, but I’m happy and know that J. will be too!
scampi

Baked Shrimp Scampi

2 pounds (12-15 per pound) shrimp in shell
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons white wine
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1-1/2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature
4 teaspoons minced garlic
1/4 cup minced shallots
3 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
1 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary
1/4 teaspoon crushed pepper flakes
1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2/3 cup panko (Japanese dried bread flakes)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Peel, devein and butterfly the shrimp. Place the shrimp in a bowl and toss with olive oil, wine, 2 teaspoons salt and 1 teaspoon pepper. Allow to sit at room temperature.

In a small bowl, mash the softened butter with the garlic, shallots, parsley, rosemary, red pepper flakes, lemon zest, lemon juice, panko, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper until combined.

Line an oven proof baking dish with the shrimp in a single layer. Pour the remaining marinade over the shrimp. Spread the butter mixture over the shrimp and bake for 12-14 minutes, until hot and bubbly.

Serves:4. Be sure to have some hot, crusty bread on hand to sop up the luscious, garlicky juices!

2 thoughts on “Baked Shrimp Scampi

  1. Num Num 🙂 UMMMMM

  2. Wow!! This sounds wonderful…I’m going to try it this weekend! Thanks for the great inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

