September 10, 2009
paninigirl

3 comments

My “Go To” Summer Chicken Recipe

I remember the night I first ate this chicken. My great friend K., who I spent countless hours running around with in high school (actually for quite some time she was the only one with a drivers license and so she drive us everywhere), had moved to my neighborhood in southern California. She had always been interested in food and although we didn’t know a lot way back when, I was immediately a fan of this dish the first night that she cooked it for me.

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve made this chicken and have passed the recipe along. My sister’s family now refers to it as “Aunt J.’s chicken”. I’m honored, but must admit that the original recipe comes by way of Lee Bailey and I originally saw it in his book “Good Parties“. I once made this for a wedding for 200 guests! I’m happy now just to make this for J. and I for dinner (and a few good friends!).

Grainy Mustard Marinated Chicken Breasts

6 boneless chicken breasts
3 medium garlic cloves, chopped
1-1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
3 tablespoons grainy mustard
1/4 cup cider vinegar
Juice of 1 lime
Juice of 1/2 large lemon
6 tablespoons olive oil
Black pepper to taste

Mix the garlic, salt, sugar, mustard, vinegar, lime and lemon juice to blend. Whisk in the olive oil and pepper. Place chicken in a baggie, pour marinade over and refrigerate overnight. Turn once.

Remove from the refrigerator an hour before grilling and let come to room temperature. Grill the breasts approximately 4 minutes per side, or until done. Do not overcook! Serve and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “My “Go To” Summer Chicken Recipe

  1. Thanks Paninigirl, I was looking for a new recipe for grilled boneless chicken breasts! I am going to make this marinade right now for tomorrow’s dinner. Looks yummy!

  2. OK J and I made this chicken recipe last night and it was delicious!! We grill skinless boneless chicken breasts frequently, and no matter what I use for a marinade they always need a sauce at serving time to give them flavor. Not so with this recipe! And they had a nice crispiness on the outside from the sugar. YUM!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

