September 3, 2009
paninigirl

2 comments

Above Lucca

above Lucca

Lucca-if you haven’t visited this well preserved Tuscan town, you really should. I came upon this photo when I was recently researching the surrounding area and I found it fascinating to see just the layout of this ancient town. You can clearly see how the Lucca is completely surrounded by a wall that has been preserved and is now used as a tree lined pedestrian walk. I think I walked down almost all of the streets of Lucca. I was lost my way on the way from the train station to my inn even though the streets are set up on a rectangular grid, thanks to the Romans. If I’m going to wander around being lost, this isn’t a bad place to do it!

2 thoughts on “Above Lucca

  1. It’s perfect, isn’t it?

  2. Hi Janie, thank you for visiting my blog today… it was an amazing trip.

    I am hopefully going to the Lucca area in November, looking at staying in Barga..:-)

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

