August 17, 2009
paninigirl

2 comments

The Dog Days Of Summer

bounty
It’s mid August. The sun is shining, temperatures are high, but do I care? Not in the least, because I am in the midst of my tomato harvest. I can’t even explain the joy it brings me to go out back and place these beauties in a basket and head on into the kitchen. When the tomatoes first started coming in I was greedy. I didn’t really want to give any away. Now I realize that I better start sharing them with friends because there’s starting to be more than I can deal with. We should be eating tomatoes and nothing else for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

While out in the garden picking these beauties, I inadvertently knocked a few green tomatoes off the vine. Right then and there I knew that it was time for fried green tomatoes. I’ve been meaning to make these all summer long and finally got around to it. They were the perfect side dish to our grilled burgers. Now that I think of it, maybe I should have put the fried tomatoes on the burgers. There’s always next time…

Fried Green Tomatoes

2-3 firm, green tomatoes cut into thick slices
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup cornmeal
salt and freshly ground pepper
canola oil

Beat eggs. Combine flour, cornmeal, salt and pepper. Heat oil in a skillet. Dip tomato slices into egg and then into flour/cornmeal. When the oil is hot fry tomatoes about 3 minutes on each side. I served these with a remoulade for dipping made with mayo, chopped capers and cornichons, grainy mustard and a little lemon juice. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The Dog Days Of Summer

  1. I just love the sight of freshly-picked homegrown tomatoes – there is something so satisfying about it!

    Pomona x

  2. I wish I had that problem!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

