August 11, 2009
paninigirl

6 comments

A Taste Of India

zucchiniThis summer is the first time in many years that we decided to grow some vegetables. A few years back, discouraged by a less than stellar tomato crop, I decided to turn our entire garden area into a lavender patch. I’m thrilled that I did that because the lavender is gorgeous and there are bees happily buzzing around, but it means that I now have to grow vegetables in large pots. I’ve done tomatoes this way before, but this year, inspired by my sister-in-law L.-I also threw a few zucchini plants in a large, rather shallow pot and they’ve done great!

Like just about everyone else, I’ve been on a hunt for more creative ways to use the bounty of zucchini. While going through my ever growing pile of recipes that I want to try, I came across this one for zucchini curry from an old Gourmet (’02) magazine. We love Indian food, although I must admit that our experience with it is more from what I’ve cooked at home than from any restaurants. I only have one regret after trying this recipe-that I hadn’t made it years ago!

Zucchini Curry

1/2 teaspoon yellow or brown mustard seeds
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 garlic clove, chopped
1-2 teaspoons chopped fresh jalapeno chile, including seeds
2 teaspoons finely grated peeled fresh ginger
2 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon curry powder
1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 large onion, thinly sliced
6 medium green zucchini, cut into 1/2″ round slices
1 (14oz.) can unsweetened coconut milk, well stirred
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Toast mustard and cumin seeds and cool. Pound garlic, jalapeno and ginger to a paste with 1 teaspoon salt in a mortar and pestle, or mince and mash with a large, heavy knife. Stir in curry powder, coriander, mustard and cumin seeds.

Heat oil in large saute pan over moderately high heat (but not smoking), then saute onion, stirring until golden, about 8 minutes. Add the curry paste, and cook over low heat, stirring constantly about 2 minutes.

Add zucchini and cook, stirring until it appears to be moist, about 3 to 5 minutes. Add coconut milk and remaining teaspoon salt and bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer, covered, stirring occasionally, until zucchini is just tender, about 10 minutes.

Serve sprinkled with chopped cilantro. Serves: 6

6 thoughts on “A Taste Of India

  1. oh, this sounds lovely…may have to try it soon!

  2. Wonderful – as I think you know, we have a bit of a glut in that department!

    Pomona x

  3. Sure wish my husband liked zucchini—I love Indian food…

  4. Got your email and your link here will be posted on Monday! Thanks for participating!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

