August 7, 2009
paninigirl

7 comments

Italy On My Mind and Gratitude Friday

arezzo arcades
There are nights when I wake up in the wee hours and can’t fall back to sleep. I’m sure you now what I mean. Of course, the first thing that happens in the middle of the night when everyone else is sleeping, is to think about bills that aren’t paid, projects that aren’t complete and every other negative thing that might be going on. I fret for a minute or two and then remember that I have found a sure fire way to calm down and fall asleep-I begin to think about Italy!

Yes, I lie there and try to think of times when I was in Italy, walking around in a city, mesmerized by the beauty that surrounded me. I visualize my apartment in Arezzo and how I would leave late every afternoon (even though it was winter and drizzly and cold) and stroll around town with the rest of the cittadini (citizens) and admire the town, its buildings, its people. I see J. and I driving through fields of green, past drives lined with cypress trees. I envision walking past buildings that have been there for centuries and marveling over the amazing art that is in just about every church I’ve ever visited. I savor these thoughts and sure enough, I slowly drift back to sleep.

I am grateful for every moment that I have spent in Italy and when I think I can’t stand it anymore-that I am here and not there- I will close my eyes and conjure up one of the many “once in a lifetime moments” that I have had there.

Gratitude Friday is being brought to you by the very creative Diana at Creative Structures. Check it out!

7 thoughts on “Italy On My Mind and Gratitude Friday

  1. Beautiful columns – and what a lovely way to go to sleep!

    Pomona x

  2. What a wonderful idea! I’m going to have to try that!

  3. Everytime I read your posts about Italy…I feel like I’m saying it! I too think of Italy all the time and wish So badly I was there again. I can’t wait to get back.

    I’m reading Under the Tuscan Sun (I adore the movie, but had surprisingly not read the book prior) and it just sucks me back everytime I turn the cover. *sigh*

  4. Sweet dreams of Tuscany, Capri, Rome, Venice, Amalfi—-that should do the trick…

  5. Dreaming is gratis… Hope you make it back to our neck of the woods soon.

    Ciao,
    Lola xx

  6. It works like a charm!!! I just lay there and think about walks by the Pantheon and all around Rome. Next thing I know, I’m waking up the next morning. This is wonderful! I have a horrible time with waking up in the middle of the night. You don’t know how much I appreciate this.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

