August 4, 2009
paninigirl

1 comment

Taking the Traghetto

traghetto3
We all know about the gondolas of Venice, but have you ever taken a traghetto while visiting this gorgeous city? “Il traghetto” is the Italian word for “ferry” but in Venice this boat is more like a very simple looking gondola. Two oarsmen, one in the front and the other in the back of the boat, row you over to the other side. Locals use the inexpensive traghetti to get from one side of the Grand Canal to the other and unlike the gondola where you sit back and enjoy the scenery, when you board a traghetto, be prepared to stand on your way across the canal!

I have a very clear memory of the first time we decided to jump on a traghetto instead of walking to one of the four bridges the span the Grand Canal. I was a little leery of standing in this very narrow boat, but I was determined that I would not “act like a tourist” and sit down. As I gingerly stepped into the boat I wondered if I would I lose my footing and end up in the canal? I grabbed on to J.’s arm and hoped for the best and before I knew it, we were under way and in a matter of moments, we were ready to climb off and visit the Rialto Market. The next time you’re in Venice, be sure to try this, you’ll like it!

One thought on “Taking the Traghetto

  1. The traghetto! Brava, Panini-Girl!!
    I loved my first time on the traghetto, it was scary but I too was determined not to appear terrified.

    Good one!
    Ciao
    Lola xx

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

