July 27, 2009
paninigirl

4 comments

The Taste Of Summer In A Muffin

blueberry corn
There are certain ingredients that scream summer and blueberries and corn are two of them. Blueberry muffins are probably my all time favorite and who can resist a corn muffin right out of the oven topped with a little butter? I saw this recipe in Country Living and was fascinated not only with the combination of blueberries and cornmeal, but with the addition of fresh corn in the batter. The slight crunch of the cornmeal, the sweetness of the blueberries and the surprise of a corn kernel make for one delicious breakfast treat. Leave out the blueberries and these muffins would be the perfect accompaniment to a bowl of chili.

Blueberry Corn Muffins

1 cup stone-ground yellow cornmeal
1 cup flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 large egg
1 cup buttermilk
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 cup blueberries
1 cup fresh corn kernels
1 tablespoon turbinado sugar

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. place baking liners in a 12-cup muffin pan and set aside. Combine cornmeal, flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl and set aside. In a separate bowl whisk egg, buttermilk and butter together and stir into dry ingredients until just combined. Gently fold in the blueberries and corn. Divide batter among muffin cups and sprinkle with turbinado sugar. Bake until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean, about 25 minutes. cool on a wire rack.

4 thoughts on “The Taste Of Summer In A Muffin

  1. They look scrummy – I will have to post my apple muffin recipe for you! I’m not sure about turbinado sugar, though, I will have to look that one up – not an English term! Maybe demerara or muscovado sugar?

    Pomona x

  2. Pomona-I think demerara sugar is probably the most similar. I actually used a coarse sugar as I didn’t have turbinado either!

  3. Wow, Janie…I wrote about blueberries screaming summer to me, too! We must be on the same wave length 😉 I ate a whole quart of them with with cream (in 2 sittings) then made a blueberry barbecue sauce with the rest. Of course, sweet corn was the side dish!

  4. Janie, I’m totally with you! Blueberries are the very essence of summer to me. Along with tomatoes … and strawberries … and cherries … and basil … I could go on! Lovely muffins!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

