June 24, 2009
paninigirl

6 comments

My Kind Of Recipe

When my cooking magazines arrive I love to sit down and read them cover to cover. At first glance I can identify which recipes I want to try and start making plans as to when I’ll be serving these new dishes. Ever since I first browsed through the July issue of Gourmet, I’ve been looking for an excuse to make this savory “cake”. Once I saw pancetta, olives and cheese, I was hooked. My friends are coming over this afternoon to talk a little Italian and I though that this would be the perfect afternoon snack. Prosecco would probably be a great accompaniment and it just might help our attempts at conversing in Italian!
loaves 2

“Le Cake” Aux Olives et au Reblochon

1 cup cubed pancetta
Handful of black olives,rinsed, pitted and coarsely chopped
Generous 3/4 cup of grated Parmigaino-Reggiano cheese
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon salt and plenty of freshly ground black pepper
1 cup cubed Reblochon or other semisoft cheese
2 tablespoons freshly chopped herbs (such as chives, dill, parsley)
1 cup milk
3-1/2 tablespoons melted butter
1 large egg
3/4 cup creme fraiche

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Fry the pancetta until just beginning to brown. Leave to cool and mix in the olives. Grease a 5″ x 9″ loaf pan and sprinkle with half of the Parmigiano cheese. Whisk the flour, salt, baking powder and seasoning in a large bowl. Mix in the Reblochon, herbs, pancetta and olives.

In a small bowl whisk the milk, butter, egg and creme fraiche. Using a large rubber spatula, fold the wet ingredients into the dry and stop when it is just combined. The mixture is meant to be wet and sticky. Turn into the pan and sprinkle the remaining Parmegiano on top. Bake for 45-50 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean (be aware that if it hits some melted cheese, it will come out sticky).

Cool in the pan for 10-15 minutes, turn out and serve warm. If you make this ahead of time, be sure to reheat it before serving. I made half a recipe and baked two smaller loaves, which I found the perfect size when sliced.

This recipe comes from a cookbook that I’ve yet to purchase calls A Table in the Tarn. If this recipe is an indicator of the other recipes, I just might have to get this one too.

6 thoughts on “My Kind Of Recipe

  1. That looks so good..what time would you like me? Glad to hear I am not the only one that has a little ‘habit’. I have also found so many wonderful food articles (as above) on the net I’ve had to start a binder for them as I am cluttering up the kitchen with print outs. Thank you I’ll be printing this out too! Mx

  2. That sounds delicious!

  3. I had my eye on this one, Janie! Glad you tried it and glad it turned out well!

  4. Pingback: Cream Puffs In Venice - Magazine Mondays: Dulce de Leche Ice Cream Tartlets!

  5. I’ve made this three times in the last three weeks.. each time I do a better job. I’ve found that I need about twice as much milk as the recipe calls for in order to get this incorporated in any way. I’ve also found that the cheese is hard to cube because it’s so soft. Found that rolling the cheese in flour after each successive cut makes everything easier. This recipe is a hands down five star winner. In my collection for life!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

