May 25, 2009
paninigirl

6 comments

In The Kitchen with Rhubarb

rhubarb crisp
I have to admit that I’m a rhubarb novice. Not only have I never cooked or baked with it, but I’ve only eaten it once and that was years ago. For the past few weeks I’ve been eyeing these beautiful green and reddish stalks that are stacked in a pile at my farmers’ market. Usually I just pass them up thinking that I’m not a rhubarb person, that is, until yesterday when I proudly picked up a bunch and laid my dollar on the table.

I don’t really know much about rhubarb, but I have been getting bits of advice. My mother cautioned me that it’s very bitter and to make sure that I use a lot of sugar. Even J. had some words of wisdom, warning me that I better cook it for a long time. In the end I decided to make a rhubarb crisp and baked it as I would if I were using apples, but tossing the fruit with a lot more sugar. I’ll be topping the warm crisps with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and serving it to friends who are here for dinner. Here’s hoping that it tastes as good as it smells!

Rhubarb Crisp

1 pound rhubarb, cut into 3/4″ pieces
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Mix all ingredients together and divide between 4 ramekins (4″ wide). Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Topping

3/4 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter (cut into 8 slices)

Sift together the dry ingredients and cut in the butter until it is all very well combined and and crumbly. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the fruit in the ramekins (I only used about 3/4 of the topping). Cover the ramekins with foil then put the ramekins on a baking sheet and place in preheated oven. Bake for 25 minutes then remove the foil and bake for 25 minutes more. Serve warm or at room temperature.

6 thoughts on “In The Kitchen with Rhubarb

  1. I think you’ll probably love it! Rhubarb kind of gets a bad rap but when people try it they usually like it! My mom always made a rhubarb custard pie for my dad’s birthday…his preference over a cake. I recently did a rhubarb & raspberry pie with a crumb topping…yum! Strawberries are often paired with it but they get so watery when baked and that’s such a typical combination I thought the raspberries were a nice change.

    “Beyond the Recipe – Cooking Between the Lines”
    darinsehnert.wordpress.com

  2. UMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM Good!

    I am a lucky guy…:-)

  3. Mmm…my grandma used to cook with rhubard all the time! I nearly forgot about it until I just read this. I haven’t had it since I moved away from home nearly 6 years ago.

    I need to start trying your recipes!

  4. Hi Panini Girl,
    I got brave a couple years back and made a rhubarb pie that included blue berries. It was a nice combination.
    Lorree

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

