April 27, 2009
paninigirl

6 comments

A Taste Of Spring In Ravioli

Ravioli are probably my favorite form of pasta. I suppose it has a lot to do with the memories of my grandmother’s ravioli that I grew up with. Those were very traditional of the area where she grew up (Campania) filled with creamy ricotta cheese and topped with tomato sauce. I have carried on the tradition of making fresh pasta and stuffing ravioli and it’s not as hard as you think. There is however a way to have great tasting and incredibly tender ravioli with a minimum of effort-wonton wrappers!
ravioli-wpeas
Just because they have an Asian sounding name doesn’t mean that these wonton wrappers can’t be used for other cuisines. They are super easy to work with and I do use them for my favorite Chinese dumplings, but I’ve also made delicious Italian style ravioli too. Found in the refrigerated section of the grocery store, these wrappers come in both round and square shapes. All you have to do is take one, put the filling of your choice in the center, moisten the edges with a little water, place another wrapper on top and press down to seal.
completed-ravioli
I saw this recipe as soon as I opened the May issue of Gourmet magazine and knew that I would be making them. They were the perfect quick dinner served with a salad. I can see making them as a first course for a dinner party, maybe followed by a roast of some sort. You’ll definitely wow your guests with these on your menu.

Pea and Parmesan “Wonton” Ravioli

2-2/3 cups frozen peas
1/3 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano, plus additional for serving
2 teaspoons chopped fresh mint
About 64 dumpling or wonton wrappers
3/4 stick unsalted butter, melted

Cook peas in boiling salted water until just tender, about 3-4 minutes. Drain and cool, then puree in a food processor. Stir in cheese, mint and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper.

Put a rounded teaspoon filling in the center of a wrapper. Lightly brush the edge of the wrapper with water and then place a second wrapper on top and seal, pressing out any trapped air. Repeat with remaining wrappers and filling, keeping ravioli covered as you work (I like to place ravioli on a lightly floured baking sheet until I’m ready to cook them).

Boil ravioli in a few batches in a pasta pot of salted boiling water, until tender, about 2-3 minutes per batch. Remove with a slotted spoon. Drizzle with melted butter and sprinkle with cheese and freshly grated pepper.
Serves: 4
I used a little more filling in mine and made fewer. They are so light and fresh tasting-the mint adds just the right touch. I think I might try them next time with fava beans instead.

6 thoughts on “A Taste Of Spring In Ravioli

  1. Wonton wrappers? That is such a great idea!! Thanks for tip and mmmm…. those sure look tasty. Serves four? I could eat them all… and then not be able to move, but who cares.

  2. these look wonderful…and easy! Definitely putting it on my list for the next week 🙂

  3. These look fabulous, Janie! Perfect for spring!

  4. Pingback: Cream Puffs In Venice - Magazine Mondays: Jam-Filled Mezzaluna Cookies!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

