Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

April 12, 2009
paninigirl

7 comments

Italian Chicken Salad

Do you really need a recipe for a salad? Probably not, but I cut this recipe out from an old Gourmet (April 2006) magazine and came upon it recently when I was cleaning out my files. I can’t tell you how many torn and tattered recipes I tossed, but this was one I held on to. Today I was having a friend for lunch and I wanted something light and easy and this certainly fit the bill. Luckily there was enough for J. to partake and he pronounced this as the best salad I’ve ever made, with the flavor of each and every ingredient standing out and making an impression.
insalata

Insalata di Pollo

For Croutons
4 cups (1/2″) cubes Italian bread (from a crusty round loaf)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt

For Vinaigrette
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons finely chopped shallot
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

For Salad
2 cups coarsely shredded cooked chicken (you can poach a few breasts, or use a rotisserie one)
1 cup bocconcini (small mozzarella balls)
2 hearts of romaine, torn into bite-size pieces
1-(8 oz.) jar roasted peppers, cut into 1/4″ wide strips
1 cup assorted marinated brine-cured olives

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Toss bread cubes with oil and salt and spread out on a baking sheet. Bake, turning over once until golden and crisp, about 8 minutes.

Whisk together all vinaigrette ingredients in a small bowl, except oil, until combined. Add oil in a slow steady stream, whisking until emulsified.

Toss chicken and bocconcini together with 1/4 cup of vinaigrette in a bowl and let stand 10 minutes to allow flavors to develop.

Toss together romaine, red peppers, olives, chicken and bocconcini mixture, croutons and remaining vinaigrette in a large bowl until combined.
Serves: 4

I added toasted pine nuts and used red bell peppers that I had grilled, peeled and tossed with olive oil and slivered garlic. Use the best quality extra-virgin olive oil that you have-this really makes a difference!

7 thoughts on “Italian Chicken Salad

  1. What a great looking salad. You have those darling wooden hands tossers. Looks like we have a lot in common – your vinaigrette is the same as mine and I love it. Sometimes I forget to use the shallots but I really think they make it better. Thanks for this recipe.
    Sam

  2. Best ever! And that is saying a lot given my experience!

    🙂

  3. I was the friend who came over to lunch, and this salad was so yummy and refreshing! I loved it! And the company was pretty great too 🙂

  4. It looks so good … and I love your salad servers!

  5. Pingback: Cream Puffs In Venice - Magazine Mondays: Tarts!

  6. Thanks for posting this recipe, I’ve been looking for a tasty looking salad recipe lately and all the ones I found seemed so blah.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

